The Kind Administrators Membership is presenting the TDC Medal to Dutch typographer Dr. Gerard Unger, who has created among the world’s most influential typefaces for over 5 many years.  Unger will likely be current to obtain this honor on July 18 at The Cooper Union together with the awards shows for the Kind Administrators Membership annual typography competitors.


He is the thirtieth recipient within the fifty-year historical past of the TDC Medal, first awarded to Hermann Zapf in 1967 to honor his contributions to typography. Unger joins a prestigious listing of medalists that embody Paul Rand, Matthew Carter, Erik Spiekermann, Gerrit Noordzij, Paula Scher, Louise Fili, and Ed Benguiat. Based on TDC board member Dan Rhatigan of Adobe Typekit, “Gerard has been very influential as a typeface designer, since his work has had an influence in so many contexts, however his legacy as a beloved instructor of extra generations of sort designers might show to have even additional attain. We unanimously determined to present him the TDC Medal to shine a lightweight on his affect and accomplishments.”

Source link